Kuji Kiri and Kuji In: The 9 Hand Seals

Watch these Kuji Kiri videos to understand more about the forms and intentions seen in popular movies and real dojos. Kuji In uses “The 9 Hand Seals”, which are known as the kuji kiri hand motions meant to invoke meditation and focus. Sometimes interpreted as an access method for mysterious powers, these hand shapes and motions are passed down through the ages from Buddhist mantras to Ninjas and meditation seekers.

Learning these mystical and powerful symbols and rituals is taught in the Ninjutsu Bujinkan Black Belt Course Curriculum at Bushindo University, online of on DVD.

Kuji Kiri: The Nine Hand Seals or Cuts

There are nine Kuji Kiri, called ‘The Nine Hands Seals of the Ninja’ or ‘The Nine Cuts’ are hand positions still used in Japanese martial arts ritual processes and meditation. Some people have called them “the Ninja secret hand signs” but that can be a shallow and misinformed concept. They are also used in esoteric religious practices of “Shugendo” and “Shingon Mikkyo” and among modern holistic healers.

Kuji In: The Nine Mantras

“Kuji In” is another term sometimes used to describe the “energy focusing” involved in performing the kuji kiri because the kuji in are the “9 syllables” or “9 mantras” that correspond to the hand gestures meant to evoke an energy change when performed.

Said to originate from Taoism or Hinduism and brought to Japan by Buddhist monks, the kuji kiri ritual is often mis-perceived as a way that martial artists can transmit a real curse (which an enlightened ninjutsu practitioner would not want to do.) Often, in martial arts or religious/healing contexts, these so-called “ninja hand seals” are practiced to focus the mental, spiritual and physical energies of the practitioner. Usually, nowadays, the kuji in is performed to gain spiritual power only in the person doing the ritual.


The names and meanings of the KUJI KIRI:

Rin – Power (Strength of mind, body, spirit)

Pyo – Energy (energy direction)

To – Harmony (one-ness with the universe or self)

Sha – Healing (of self and others)

Kai – Intuition (premonition of danger, feeling others intent)

Jin – Awareness (feeling thoughts of others, perhaps hiding your own)

Retsu – Dimension (control of time and space)

Zai – Creation (understanding nature)

Zen – Absolute (enlightenment)

kuji kiri

(The kuji kiri and kuji in videos on this page are public domain and are NOT produced by Ninja Learning Network)